This scholarship will be awarded yearly to one or two AAHA U18 level players who will be attending post-secondary academic institution, namely a college or university. The recipients must exhibit the qualities on and off the ice that model the spirit of a team player.  Examples include, but are not limited to, dedication, a hard worker, tenacity, and putting others before self.

A sum of $2000.00 (or two x $1000 bursaries if two individuals are selected) will be awarded to a Rep or House League player each spring. The recipient(s) will receive a commemorative plaque with their name also placed on a second plaque that will remain the property of Ancaster Avalanche Hockey Association and will be displayed in the trophy case at Morgan Firestone arena.

Scholarship Award Eligibility Criteria

  1. Currently a player or member of the coaching staff of a team in the Ancaster Avalanche Hockey Association in good standing
  2. Must have a minimum of 3 consecutive years with AAGHA as a player and / or member of a coaching staff
  3. Previous winners are not eligible

Scholarship Award Selection Recommendation
Show evidence of other involvement within the Association - including, but not limited to, volunteering, mentoring, assistant coaching, refereeing.  Show evidence of displaying initiative, citizenship, and a community spirit both on and off the ice.

Applications will be reviewed by a selection committee from the AAHA Board of Directors.

Funds will be made available to successful applicants after proof of full-time academic registration has been received by the AAHA Treasurer.  AAHA Scholarship winners may defer receipt of their awards for a period no longer than eighteen months, however, deferment requests must be submitted in writing and include an explanation.

All cheques will be payable to the successful applicant or academic institution.

Please complete the Scholarship Award Application Form.  Applications are accepted until June 30, 2024. 

Email the completed form to along with:

1.Supporting documents (as per Selection Criteria) - see Application Form,
2.A copy of your most recent school report card.

Please support our sponsors.

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information